IT’s not about the bunny….

Image

Twenty Three years ago I lost my love and my best friend in a canoeing accident on Good Friday. It is a day i will never forget and think of this person often. So Easter for myself has another reason. I miss him terribly but I celebrate his life and the time we had him, he was funny and quirky and loved to laugh, he was the life of the party and has many friends and family who loved him. Rest In Peace My dear Friend,

With Easter this coming weekend, when we walk threw the stores we actually forget that its not about the chocolate and the stuffed bunnies and all the pretty eggs you can hide. Its about Jesus dying and rising again. That is what Easter is all about. I recall a time when a father asked his daughter what Easter was and she told him how Jesus died, she didn’t say its when we get chocolate, or the Easter bunny comes. This young girl went to Sunday School and she was taught and is being taught the real reason. I’m not saying you have to go to church to instil these beliefs, I’m merely suggesting that we teach our children the true meaning of these holidays.

It very hard now days to keep the true meaning of holidays whether it be Christmas or Easter with how commercialized its gotten.

When your asked at the end of your life if you ate enough chocolate or did you get enough gifts, I hope your reply will be, I didn’t need all those things to show me that Jesus loves me. Because I know with in my heart that I’m loved and I give love that’s what these holidays are for to reflect and know the true meaning.

I hope everyone gets to enjoy the Easter Season with Family and Friends. And remember to take the time to reflect and be thankful.

Tonia

 

 

Leave a Reply

